People

Explore Our Chemistry Department

To contact the department by telephone, email or mail, see the department contact details.
Faculty Members
Gerald Audette (Assoc. Dean – Faculty)
Office: 327C LSB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x33318
E-mail: audette@yorku.ca
Web: audettelab.ca Research Interests: Protein Crystallography (read more here)
Thomas Baumgartner (CRC)
Office: 431B LSB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x44208
E-mail: tbaumgar@yorku.ca
Web: www.yorku.ca/tbaumgarResearch Interests: Main-group Chemistry, Organic Materials Chemistry, and Sustainable Energy (read more here)
Chris Caputo (CRC)
Office: 354 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x22964
E-mail: caputo@yorku.ca
Web: www.caputolab.ca

Research Interests: Inorganic, Organic and Materials Chemistry (read more here)

Jennifer Chen
Office: 456 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x22339
E-mail: jilchen@yorku.ca
Web: jchen.lab.yorku.ca

Research Interests: Analytical, Inorganic, Materials and Physical Chemistry (read more here)

Stephanie Pugliese Domenikos
Office: 352 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x22339
E-mail: sdomenik@yorku.ca

Teaching Interests: CHEM 1000, NATS courses

Rene Fournier (Chair)
Office: 303 PSE
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x30687
E-mail: renef@yorku.ca
Web: www.yorku.ca/renef

Research Interests: Computational Chemistry (read more here)

Donald Hastie
Office: 305 PSE
Telephone: 416-736-5388 or (416-736-2100) x55388
E-mail: hastie@yorku.ca
Web: www.cac.yorku.ca/donald-hastie-an-group/

Research Interests: Atmospheric Chemistry (read more here)

Michael Hempstead
Office: 356 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x33523
E-mail: mikey@yorku.ca

Teaching Interests: CHEM 1000, 1001, 2030

Ryan Hili
Office: 429B LSB
Telephone: 416-736-5388 or (416-736-2100) x44207
E-mail: rhili@yorku.ca
Web: www.yorku.ca/rhili/ryanhili.html

Research Interests: Organic and Biological Chemistry, use of DNA and in vitro artificial evolution to develop new materials, including new catalysts and aptamers, and to discover cell biomarkers and new drugs (read more here)

Demian Ifa
Office: 252 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x33555
E-mail: ifadr@yorku.ca
Web: sites.google.com/site/ifadryorku

Research Interests: Mass Spectrometry Imaging, Clinical Mass Spectrometry (read more here)

Derek A. Jackson
Office: 452 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x44553
E-mail: derekj@yorku.ca

Teaching Interests: CHEM 1000, 1001, 2020, 2021, 3070

Philip Johnson
Office: 414 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x33119
E-mail: pjohnson@yorku.ca
Web: www.yorku.ca/pjohnson

Research Interests: Biological Chemistry, Nucleic Acid Chemistry, Biophysical Chemistry (read more here)

Hovig Kouyoumdjian
Office: 350 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x44091
E-mail: hovig@yorku.ca

Teaching Interests: CHEM 1000, 1001, 2020, 2021, 3070
Research Interests: Chemical Education

Sergey Krylov (CRBI Director)
Office: 340 PSE
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x22345
E-mail: skrylov@yorku.ca
Web: www.yorku.ca/skrylov

Research Interests: Bioanalytical Chemistry (read more here)

Gino Lavoie
Office: 145 PSE
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x77728
E-mail: glavoie@yorku.ca
Web: www.yorku.ca/glavoie

Research Interests: Inorganic Chemistry, Polymers, Organometallics (read more here)

Robert McLaren (GPD)
Office: 301 PSE
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x30675
E-mail: rmclaren@yorku.ca
Web: www.cac.yorku.ca/robert-mclaren-group/

Research Interests: Atmospheric Chemistry (read more here)

Sylvie Morin
Office: 301 PSE
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x30675
E-mail: smorin@yorku.ca
Web: sites.google.com/site/morinresearchgroup

Research Interests: Scanning Tunneling Microscopy, Electrochemistry, Metal Deposition, Nanostructures (read more here)

Tihana Mirkovic
Office: 358 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x 77009
E-mail: tihanam@yorku.ca

Teaching Interests: CHEM 1000, 1001, 2011, 3000, 3001

Arturo Orellana
Office: 440 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x70760
E-mail: aorellan@yorku.ca
Web: www.yorku.ca/aorellan

Research Interests: Natural Products Synthesis, Synthetic Methods (read more here)

William Pietro
Office: 138 PSE
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x77700
E-mail: pietro@yorku.ca
Web:

Research Interests: Inorganic Chemistry, Materials Chemistry (read more here)

Pierre Potvin (UPD)
Office: 406 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x66140
E-mail: pgpotvin@yorku.ca
Web: www.yorku.ca/pgpotvin

Research Interests: Organic Synthesis, Tailored Photo- and Electrocatalysts (read more here)

Valeria Tsoukanova
Office: 342 PSE
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x20015
E-mail: valeriat@yorku.ca
Web: valeriat6.wixsite.com/mysite

Research Interests: Physical Chemistry, Biophysical Chemistry, Biomaterials (read more here)

Trevor VandenBoer
Office: 344 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x77105
E-mail: tvandenb@yorku.ca
Web: www.tcvandenboer.ca

Research Interests: Atmospheric Reactive Nitrogen, Environmental Chemistry, Analytical Instrumentation (read more here)

Derek Wilson (CRMS Director)
Office: 242 CB and 331C LSB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x58005 or x20786
E-mail: dkwilson@yorku.ca
Web: www.yorku.ca/dkwilson

Research Interests: Protein Dynamics, Microfluidics, Time-resolved Mass Spectrometry (read more here)

Cora Young (Rogers Chair)
Office: 340 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x22391
E-mail: youngcj@yorku.ca
Web: www.cjygroup.com

Research Interests: Atmospheric Chemistry (read more here)

Muhammad Yousaf
Office: 427C LSB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x77712
E-mail: mnyousaf@yorku.ca
Web: sites.google.com/site/muhammadnyousaf1/home

Research Interests: Surface Chemistry, Biomaterials, Nanoscience, Biological Chemistry (read more here)

Toby Zeng
Office: 208 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x 33673
E-mail: tzeng@yorku.ca
Web: https://tzeng.lab.yorku.ca

Research Interests: Theoretical Chemistry, Vibronic interaction, Spin-orbit interaction, Jahn-Teller effect, Optoelectronic Materials, Relativistic Quantum Chemistry, Pseudo-potentials, Microscopic Superfluid (read more here)

Professors Emeriti
Alan Hopkinson
Office: 248 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x77839
E-mail: ach@yorku.ca
Web:Research Interests: Physical & Theoretical Organic Chemistry (read more here)
Ed Lee-Ruff
Office: 420 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x55443 or 416-736-5443
E-mail: leeruff@yorku.ca
Web:

Research Interests: Organic Synthesis, Photochemistry (read more here)

A. B. P. Lever
Office: 141 PSE
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x22309
E-mail: blever@yorku.ca
Web:

Research Interests: Bioinorganic Chemistry, Electrochemistry, Electronic and Vibrational Spectroscopy, Solar Energy Conversion (read more here)

Contract Faculty
Kyle Belozerov
Office: 358 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x66643
E-mail: vbelozer@yorku.ca
Scott Fielder
Office: 448 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x22954
E-mail: scottf@yorku.ca
Raji Iyer
Office: 448 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x22954
E-mail: riyer@yorku.ca
Svetlana Krylova
Office:
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x55246
E-mail: krylova@yorku.ca
Sean Madorin
Office:
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x55246
E-mail: smadorin@yorku.ca
Adjunct Faculty
Logan Donaldson
Office: 49 FS
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x22823
E-mail: logand@yorku.ca
Web: ldserver.biol.yorku.ca/donaldsonlabResearch Interests: Structural Biology, NMR of Biological Molecules (read more here)
Shao-Meng Li
Office:
Telephone: 416-736-5410
E-mail: shao-meng.li@ec.gc.ca
Web:Research Interests: Atmospheric Chemistry (read more here)
Administrative Staff
Natasha Bissoon (Graduate Program Assistant)
Office: 126 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x55246
E-mail: bissoon@yorku.ca
Chenale Reynolds (Undergraduate Program Assistant as of May 16, 2019)
Office: 124 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x55246
E-mail: chemasst@yorku.ca
Nicole Chevannes-McGregor (CRMS Administrative Assistant)
Office: 240 CB
Telephone: 416-650-8426
E-mail: nicolec@yorku.ca
Mary Mamais (Administrative Assistant)
Office: 126 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x77717
E-mail: mmamais@yorku.ca
Mariam Ibrahim (Undergraduate Program Secretary)
Office: 124 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x55312
E-mail: mar252@yorku.ca
Technical Staff
Ha Au
Office: 229 LSB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x31320
E-mail: nebula@yorku.ca
Michelle Barton-Marsh
Office: 322 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x77837
E-mail: mebarton@yorku.ca
Olga Girina
Office: 308 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x33091
E-mail: ogirina@yorku.ca
Carolyn Hempstead
Office: 360 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x70134
E-mail: carolynh@yorku.ca
Howard Hunter
Office: 322 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x77726
E-mail: hnhunter@yorku.ca
Delwar Hossain
Office: 209 LSB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x44656
E-mail: dhossain@yorku.ca
Kevin Patel
Office: 310 CB
Telephone: (416-736-2100) x77304
E-mail: patel979@yorku.ca

Report an error or request an update